Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


Throughout our difficult times I have heard people saying, “Well, you know, God is in control.”

In fact, people tend to say that in just about every situation that is not going the ‘easy’ way or in a way that they perceive as difficult. They will proclaim, “Well, you know, God is still in control!”

But is He really?

See, in order for Him to have control over your life, your circumstances, you have to give Him that control. He isn’t going to just take it.

Now, this has nothing to do with His protection or His response to people praying for you. I am talking about God truly being in control of your situation, your life.

And in order for that to happen there has to be a giving up of control. In order for God to be in control of your life, you have to give up control and submit fully to Him. This submission leads to the even more difficult part of submitting to His will in your life.

And in order to allow Him to truly fulfill the promises of Romans 8:28 you have to submit yourself to Him and allow Him to control your life.

That can be pretty scary because it requires trust; faith in someone that, to be honest, most people don’t really know all that well. This is why the relationship is so very vital in our walk with God. We have to know Him and have an intimate relationship with Him. This is done having by a rich and regular daily prayer life, studying His Word daily, being a part of a body with regular attendance – and obedience and submission to Him.

See, a lot of people like to toss out that phrase “God is in control” but they have no real understanding of the implications involved. They do not see or understand that there are steps that they must take, steps we all, as believers, must take in order for it to come to pass. We have to give that control to Him.

If you are claiming today that God is still in control – and you want Him in control, then there has to be a relinquishing of control. You have to give up control over your own life and rest in His promise.

So when these things started happening and I heard people telling me, “God is in control.” I would nod and agree. It felt good, after all. But one day I stopped and thought, “Really? How much control have I really given Him?” We are so quick to say, “Lord I give this over to you” only to pick it right back up, essentially taking it from His hands. So just how much control was I giving God in my life, over my life?

He isn’t going to step in and take over where He is not invited. God is a gentleman and He won’t force Himself on us or step through a door that is not opened for Him. He will stand at the door and knock (Revelation 3:20). He will only take as much control as you give Him to direct your life for His Godly purposes.

This question sent me to my prayer closet, causing me to search my own heart. Was I spouting empty words or was I really giving God control over my life?

What I found was humbling. I was giving Him control – until I felt that He needed my ‘help’ to ‘get things right’ in my life. I was not fully submitted. It was then, with that revelation, that I wholly gave myself over to Him.

Was I tempted? You bet I was! I was tempted with all sorts of government programs from food stamps to disability. But in my own walk with God I knew that this was not a part of His plan for me. I knew that over and over the Bible reminds us that we are not to rely on man, but on God to fulfill our needs. Jeremiah 17:5-8 is very clear on who we are to trust and rely on.

By relying on our government for our survival, we are placing ourselves in the hands of a corrupt people, not to mention we are relying on man instead of God.

I had to make a choice so I chose God. I chose to give Him control over my life – completely with nothing held back. I fully submitted myself to His will and I can tell you it was the scariest but most wonderful thing I have ever done in my entire life.

Sometimes we have to walk straight through the fire instead of looking for an easy way out of it. That is the only way we an grow. It is particularly true in regards to our walk with Christ.

Trust in Him and don’t just say He is in control. Give Him control over every aspect of your life.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart
And do not lean on your own understanding.
~Proverbs 3:5

